SEWF Digital Programme

SEWF Digital event week ​features three parts:

  • Monday/Tuesday focuses on connecting and learning through masterclasses, webinars, group discussion, specialist sessions, and self-created content (content nomination for registered participants is open from 1 July-31 August – to gain access to the Slack for content nomination).
  • Wednesday/Thursday room partitions come down (virtually) with a series of keynote addresses and plenaries that will inspire and encourage action.  
  • Friday will focus on reflection and next steps as we close the event. 

SEWF Digital is designed to fit the needs of our community. As those needs evolve, we will update and add to the programme of events, integrating your nominated content suggestions and providing additional sessions for your learning and inspiration. Check back for programme updates.

PROGRAMME UPDATE – 05 August:

Click here to open a PDF of our most updated programme of events for SEWF Digital. The programme is organised by world zone so you can easily determine which sessions you’ll be able to access most easily during your day.

Full Programme

Monday 21 September - DAY 1
Logo

08:00 UK/19:00 New Zealand / 15:00 Taiwan

  • PROFILE: Social procurement in action – supplier and buyer perspectives. Moderator: Lisa Boothby, Social Traders (Australia). Speakers: Sam Sondhi, Outlook Environmental (Australia), Leigh Hardingham, John Holland (Australia)
  • SESSION: Details coming soon
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise tour and live discussion

09:00 UK/ 20:00 New Zealand / 16:00 Taiwan

  • SPOTLIGHT: Details coming soon
  • DISCUSSION: Best practice in coworking social enterprise spaces. Facilitators: Claire Carpenter, Melting Pot (Scotland) and Pete Sacco and Clayton Neil, ACRE (Australia)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

11:00 UK / 13:00 Ethiopia / 15:30 India 

  • PROFILE: Agricultural social enterprise solutions [focus on Africa and Asia]
  • PROFILE: Social investment approaches
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

12:00 UK / 14:00 Ethiopia / 16:30 India

  • PROFILE: Scaling for impact
  • DISCUSSION: Connecting rural social enterprises. Facilitators: Ailsa Clark, Inspiralba (Scotland), Ailsa Higgins, Rural Hub (Scotland), David Upton and Chloe Donatelli, Common Good Solutions (Canada) and Matt Pfahlert and Hanna McCreath, ACRE (Australia)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

13:00 UK/15:00 Ethiopia / 17:30 India

  • MASTERCLASS: Business model redesign. Facilitator: Lisa Lowthers, Social Enterprise Institute (Canada)
  • PROFILE: Collaboration between local government and social enterprise. Speakers: Gareth Hart, Plymouth Social Enterprise Places (UK) and TBC, Social Enterprise NL (Netherlands)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

14:00 UK / 16:00 Ethiopia / 18:30 India

  • MASTERCLASS: Impact measurement
  • PROFILE: Creative manufacturing – new collaboration opportunities
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

16:00 UK / 10:00 Colombia / 08:00 PDT

  • DISCUSSION: Building a youth movement
  • DISCUSIÓN: Colaboración para fortalecer el ecosistema de empresas sociales en América del Sur [en Español]
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

17:00 UK/ 11:00 Colombia / 09:00 PDT:

  • MASTERCLASS: Community Benefit Agreements  – tools and systems. Facilitators: Tori Williamson and Liz Chick, Buy Social Canada (Canada)
  • PROFILE: Work integration social enterprises (WISE)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS Social enterprise video tours and discussion

23:00 UK/ 15:30 PDT (Monday 21 September) / 10:00 NZ (Tuesday 22 September)

  • DISCUSSION: A cross-continental conversation: Building and fostering an enabling environment for social procurement. Moderator/ Speaker: Sean Barnes, Ākina (New Zealand). Speakers: Rebecca Dray, Buy Social USA (USA), Tori Williamson, Buy Social Canada (Canada), Mark Daniels, Social Traders (Australia)
Tuesday 22 September - DAY 2
Logo

07:00 UK/18:00 NZ / 14:00 Taiwan

  • PROFILE: Impact frameworks – Invest well
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise tour and live discussion

08:00 UK/ 19:00 NZ / 15:00 Taiwan

  • DISCUSSION: Networks – influencing, campaigning, and advocating for social enterprise and social change. Contributors: TBC, ASENA (Australia) and Tammy Darcy, Social Enterprise Republic of Ireland (SERI) (Ireland)
  • SPOTLIGHT: Regional collaboration – sharing and exchange between social enterprise hotspots. Contributors: Rashvin Pal Singh, Biji-biji Initiative (Malaysia) + details to follow.
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

09:00 UK/20:00 NZ / 16:00 Taiwan

  • MASTERCLASS: Digital Storytellers – telling your social enterprise story. Facilitators: Natasha Akib and Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers (Australia)
  • PROFILE: Why measurement of social value can inform social enterprise implementation
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

11:00 UK / 13:00 Ethiopia / 15:30 India

  • SPOTLIGHT: Social enterprise and international development
  • PROFILE: Social enterprise education. Contributors: Emily Mnyanyi, Social Enterprise Academy (Scotland), Nicole Dyson, Future Anything (Australia)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

12:00 UK / 14:00 Ethiopia / 16:30 India

  • PROFILE: Social enterprises as influencers of mainstream business
  • SESSION – details coming soon
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

13:00 UK / 15:00 Ethiopia / 17:30 India

  • PROFILE: Community ownership models
  • DISCUSSION: Buy Social (the global social procurement group) examine the value of collaboration and expanding the Buy Social family
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

14:00 UK / 16:00 Ethiopia / 18:30 India

  • PROFILE: Creative and cultural social enterprises tackling discrimination and exclusion. Contributors: Shyrine Ziadeh, Ramallah Ballet Center (Palestine / France), Juan Jorge Cuesta, Timbalé Salsa Con Toda (Colombia)
  • MASTERCLASS: Shifting your social enterprise to digital delivery. Facilitator:David Haddow, Social Enterprise Institute (Scotland)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS Social enterprise video tours and discussion

16:00 UK / 10:00 Colombia / 08:00 PDT

  • SPOTLIGHT: Collaboration to advance social enterprise across the Caribbean
  • PROFILE: Tackling inequality and discrimination
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS: Social enterprise video tours and discussion

17:00 UK / 11:00 Colombia / 09:00 PDT

  • PROFILE: Creative manufacturing – new collaboration opportunities
  • PROFILE: Climate change and community and social enterprise responses. Contributors: Kate Bailey, Eco-cycle (USA), Michael Cook, Community Resources Network Scotland (CRNS) (Scotland)
  • LEARNING JOURNEYS Social enterprise video tours and discussion
Wednesday 23 September - DAY 3
Logo

06:00 UK/ 17:00 NZ / 13:00 Taiwan

  • Welcome: Hélène Malandain, SEWF (New Zealand)
  • PANEL: Leadership and building an impact economy – perspectives from young leaders

07:05 UK / 18:05 NZ /14:05 Taiwan

  • PANEL SESSION: Innovative social enterprise responses in community and economic recovery

07:45 UK / 18:45 NZ / 14:45 Taiwan

  • BREAK, NETWORKING & MARKETPLACE

08:15 UK / 19:15 NZ / 15:15 Taiwan

  • PANEL: Why social procurement is a game changer for social enterprises. Speakers: Sean Barnes, Ākina (New Zealand), Olivia Cozzolino, Social Traders (Australia), Joseph Youssef, All Heart NZ (New Zealand) and Anna Robson, Refugee & Migrant Talent (Australia)

08:55 UK / 19:55 NZ / 15:55 Taiwan 

  • PANEL: Showcasing youth-led social enterprises. Speakers: Rona Glynn-McDonald, Ylab / Common Ground (Australia). Details coming soon

10:40 UK/ 12:40 Ethiopia / 15:10 India

  • KEYNOTE: Social enterprises supporting communities, reducing inequality

10:55 UK / 12:55 Ethiopia / 15:25 India 

  • PANEL: Innovative and collaborative COVID-19 responses. Speakers: Bruktawit Tigabu, Social Enterprise Ethiopia / Whiz Kids Workshop (Ethiopia), Christian Vanizette, makesense (France), Anna Fiscale, Progetto Quid (Italy)

11:50 UK / 13:20 Ethiopia / 16:20 India 

  • PANEL: Adopting innovative economic models. Speakers: Amanda Janoo, Wellbeing Economy Alliance Ambassador (USA)

12:35 UK / 14:35 Ethiopia / 17:05 India

  • BREAK, NETWORKING & MARKETPLACE

13:05 UK/ 15:05 Ethiopia / 17:35 India 

  • PANEL: Social enterprises responses to youth unemployment and disadvantage. Speakers: James Okina, Street Priests / YPAT (Nigeria/USA), Amonge Sinxoto, Blackboard Africa (South Africa)

14:00 UK / 16:00 Ethiopia / 18:30 India

  • PANEL: The role markets can play in ecosystem building and economic resilience. Moderator/speaker: Selyna Pieris, Selyn Fair Trade (Sri Lanka). Speakers: Achala Samaradivakara, Good Market (Sri Lanka), Anouk Tamrakar, Timro (Nepal) and Neelam Chhiber, Industree and Mother Earth (India)

15:45 UK / 09:45 Colombia / 07:45 PDT 

  • PANEL: Social enterprises tackling racial inequality. Speakers: Barbara Ward-Burkitt, Prince George Native Friendship Centre (Canada), Dawain Arrington, DC Central Kitchen (USA) + details coming soon

16:40 UK / 10:40 Colombia / 08:40 PDT

  • PANEL: Addressing the climate emergency – social enterprise and community responses from the Americas. Speakers: Kate Bailey, Eco-cycle (USA) + details coming soon.

17:25 UK / 11:25 Colombia / 09:25 PDT  

  • BREAK, NETWORKING & MARKETPLACE

17:55 UK / 11:55 Colombia / 09:55 PDT

  • PANEL: Innovation in job creation. Speakers: Tatiana Silva, FA.VELA (Brazil) + details coming soon.

18:45 UK / 12:45 Colombia / 10:45 PDT

  • PANEL: How and where young people can engage with social enterprise. Speaker: Tegan Samija, Social Shifters (Canada)

19:20 UK / 13:20 Colombia / 11:20 PDT

  • PANEL: Why social enterprises are critical to the recovery from the COVID-19 crisis. Speakers: Ana del Prado, Manos del Uruguay (Uruguay) and Yves Moury, Fundación Capital (Colombia)
Thursday 24 September - DAY 4
Logo

06:00 UK/ 17:00 NZ / 13:00 Taiwan

  • PANEL: Showcasing youth-led social enterprises [focus on Asia]

06:50 UK/ 17:50 NZ / 13:50 Taiwan

  • PANEL: Tech for good – showcasing social enterprises using technology for social impact and community benefit. Speakers: Sazzad Hossain, SDI Academy (Singapore), Tizzita Mengesha, Maisha Technologies (Ethiopia) + details coming soon.

07:40 UK/ 18:40 NZ / 14:40 Taiwan

  • KEYNOTE: Creating more inclusive, resilient and sustainable societies. Speaker: Audrey Tang, Digital Minister (Taiwan)

08:50 UK/ 19:50 NZ / 15:50 Taiwan

  • PANEL: The role of social enterprises in recovery from COVID-19 economic impacts – lessons and learning post-lockdown. Speaker: Rashvin Pal Singh, Biji-biji Initiative (Malaysia)

09:30 UK/ 20:30 NZ / 16:30 Taiwan

  • PANEL: Climate and waste

10:10 UK/ 21:10 NZ / 17:10 Taiwan

  • BREAK, NETWORKING & MARKETPLACE

11:00 UK / 13:00 Ethiopia / 15:30 India

  • KEYNOTE: Reverse migration and the opportunity to create more entrepreneurial rural economies. Speaker: Harish Hande, SELCO Foundation (India)

11:35 UK / 13:35 Ethiopia / 16:05 India

  • PANEL: Campaigning and awareness raising – the moment for bold and brave approaches. Speakers: Peter Holbrook, Social Enterprise UK (UK), Erinch Sahan, WFTO (Netherlands) + details coming soon

12:25 UK / 14:25 Ethiopia / 16:55 India

  • PANEL: Accessing new markets and pushing boundaries – entrepreneurial approaches to job creation and social value. Speakers: Yash Ranga, Jaipur Rugs (India) + details coming soon.

13:30 UK / 15:30 Ethiopia / 18:00 India

  • PANEL: Social enterprises addressing gender inequality

14:20 UK / 16:20 Ethiopia / 18:50 India

  • PANEL: Breaking new ground in commercial-social partnerships – moving beyond “CSR”. Speakers: Jennifer Beason, SAP (USA) and Kendra Walsh, Expert Impact (UK)

15:00 UK / 17:00 Ethiopia / 19:30 India

  • BREAK, NETWORKING & MARKETPLACE

16:00 UK / 10:00 Colombia / 08:00 PDT

  • PANEL: Introduction to social enterprises – supporting communities, challenging inequality, delivering social impact. Speakers: Marcia Nozick, EMBERS (Canada) + details coming soon.

16:50 UK / 10:50 Colombia / 08:50 PDT

  • PANEL: Creating a social value marketplace. Speakers: Arielle Johnson, Fierce Recruiting (USA), Tim Coldwell, Chandos Construction (Canada) + details coming soon.

17:40 UK / 11:40 Colombia / 09:40 PDT

  • PANEL: Business to business – connecting buyers and social enterprise sellers. Speakers: Eric Lombardi, Buy Social USA (USA) and Tori Williamson, Buy Social Canada (Canada)

18:20 UK / 12:20 Colombia / 10:20 PDT

  • PANEL: The urgent need for alternative investment models

19:10 UK / 13:10 Colombia / 11:10 PDT

  • CLOSING PANEL: Youth to the Front. Speakers: Nile Rodgers, We Are Family Foundation (USA) and Amonge Sinxoto, Blackboard Africa (South Africa)

19:50 UK / 13:50 Colombia / 11:50 PDT

  • SEWF Legacy and Vision. Speakers: David Upton, Common Good Solutions (Canada) and TBC, Social Enterprise Ethiopia (Ethiopia)
Friday 25 September - DAY 5
Logo

08:00 UK / 19:00 NZ / 15:00 Taiwan

  • Sharing, learning and next steps (Oceania and East Asia)
  • Wrap-up and closing (Oceania and East Asia)

11:00 UK / 13:00 Ethiopia / 15:30 India

  • Sharing, learning and next steps (Africa, Asia, Europe)
  • Wrap-up and closing (Africa, Asia, Europe)

17:00 UK/ 11:00 Colombia / 09:00 PDT

  • Sharing, learning and next steps (Americas)
  • Wrap-up and closing (Americas)

Content Timezones

Each day we will move from East to West through our three world zones ensuring that wherever you are in the world you can access live content during your day. You will be able to watch content from other world zones as well, either by viewing recordings available throughout the week, or by participating live outside of more traditional hours. Content will also be recorded and available up to September 2021 for all SEWF Digital ticket holders to access.